top of page

What is IGCSE: What does IGCSE mean?

IGCSE stands for “International General Certificate of Secondary Education”. It is equivalent to the GCSE qualification which is taken by students in Year 10 – 11 in the UK to prepare them for further pre-university level study, such as A-levels

For students aged 14 to 16, the IGCSE, or International General Certificate of Secondary Education, is a globally recognised credential. Delivered by the International Board of Examiners at the University of Cambridge, the IGCSE offers a rigorous curriculum that provides students with knowledge and skills in a variety of topics.


The inquiry-based nature of the IGCSE promotes critical thinking and problem-solving skills, unlike traditional tests that emphasize memorization.


The international recognition of the IGCSE is one of its main advantages. It offers a world of opportunities for students looking to pursue higher education or potential employment abroad as it is an internationally recognised certificate.


The diversity of interests and academic strengths is ensured by the breadth and depth of subjects covered by the IGCSE curriculum. As a result, it allows students to tailor their studies based on their interests and skills, leading to a more personalized learning experience.


In addition, IGCSE assessments include course components and final exams. This allows students to demonstrate their proficiency through real-world projects rather than being judged solely on exam performance.


Such a strategy encourages autonomous research skills, creativity and communication skills - all key talents recognised in academic and professional settings - and promotes holistic growth.

IGCSE is unique among secondary education because of its global acceptance, adaptable subject options that align with personal interests or career goals, and its emphasis on practical assessment rather than rote learning techniques alone.

Table of IGCSE fees for the school year 2023/2024

*the fees are set in the current Pearson Edexcel price list and depend on the current GPB exchange rate


Fee for LVA students to take the exam at the LVA exam centre:

10 800 CZK (up to 6 subjects) and 13 800 CZK (7 or more subjects).

List of taught subjects is in the table above.


(up to 6 subjects) and 13 800 CZK (7 or more subjects). List of taught subjects is in the table above.

16 200 CZK (up to 6 subjects) and 20 700 CZK (7 or more subjects).

External students can also take other exams from the Pearson Edexcel GCSE and IGCSE qualifications list.

bottom of page